Home Page

Voice of the Prophets from Isaiah to Malachi

Voice of the Prophets


There was no more familiar form of reference to the Old Testament in the New than the phrase: 'the law and the prophets'. Of the thirty-nine Books in the Old Testament, no less that seventeen were ascribed to the prophets. The four major prophets were Isaiah and Jeremiah, Ezekiel and Daniel; and the Book of Lamentations was also the work of Jeremiah. The twelve minor prophets range from Hosea to Malachi; they spoke for God to man, and their message, whether of mercy or judgment, must be read in the light of the times in which they lived. Their work covered the two kingdoms of Judah and Israel, and the Babylonian captivity. They were unsparing in their exposure of the moral and social, political and spiritual sins of the day. But their scathing rebukes often throw up gems which shine with all the more lustre when seen in their historical context.

This book is an attempt to select and expound the key verses in each of the prophets so as to illumine their relevance for God's people today. Read it, and see.

The Most Reverend Sir Marcus Loane (1912-2009) was formerly Anglican Archbishop of Sydney and Primate of all Australia. For many years the Principal of Moore Theological College, Sydney, he has travelled widely in Australia and overseas, bringing his theological, ministerial and devotional insights to many situations.

Voice of the Prophets

Sir Marcus Loane

by Sir Marcus Loane

Subject: Bible Exposition

Book Code: 318

Pages: 130 pp, Book

Pub. Date: 1997

ISBN: 0 86408 205 3